Filework

Here is a custom order that I finished recently:

File knife with filework and sheath curly applewoodThe blade is made from a 10-inch Simonds file, oven-tempered to around 58 Rc.  Handle is curly applewood from a block given to me about 15 years ago by my grandfather’s army buddy, who was a connoisseur of fine woods.  Blade is etched with ferric chloride.

knife and sheathThis knife is unique, because it is my first attempt at decorative filework on the spine.

The pattern for the knife was supplied by the customer, in the form of a photograph.  I took the photo into a photo editing program, scaled it to size, printed it out, and glued the photo to the steel with Barge cement.

About christophersknifeblog

I am a knifemaker and dealer, and live a very diversified life in the mountains of central Idaho. I love nature, agriculture, and homesteading. My knifemaking motto and advertising slogan is, "Knives Built for the Bush." I intend them to be efficient, durable, comfortable, functional, graceful equipment for life's challenges and opportunities. My website is www.ctfischerknives.com. Please visit!
This entry was posted in Knives and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

