Primitive Pinch-Pot

clay pot and cornWhile planting corn last spring, I happened on a nice lump of clay in otherwise loamy ground. Just for fun, I pinched this pot out, and took it in the house to dry on a rack near the wood cook-stove.
Several months later, it was placed in the oven. Then, a couple weeks ago, when we had a good fire going, I moved it from the (hot) oven to the firebox. After an hour or so, I fished it out and left it to cool. It is fired to bisque hardness, and will no longer dissolve in water.
The pot didn’t fall apart. It holds 1/8 cup of water, which is about right for dipping ice-cold water from a spring or rivulet to drink.
This is my first successful primitive pot. Thanks to John and Geri McPherson (prairiewolf.net) for the inspiration.clay pot

About christophersknifeblog

I am a knifemaker and dealer, and live a very diversified life in the mountains of central Idaho. I love nature, agriculture, and homesteading. My knifemaking motto and advertising slogan is, "Knives Built for the Bush." I intend them to be efficient, durable, comfortable, functional, graceful equipment for life's challenges and opportunities. My website is www.ctfischerknives.com. Please visit!
This entry was posted in Woodcraft, Survival, and General Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Primitive Pinch-Pot

  1. John says:

    Very interesting and resourceful!

  2. Good Job Christopher!! How fun with the pinch pot, too…

  3. Ron Moss says:

    Hi Chris, I enjoyed how you described the making of a primitive pot from bare clay . It shows what one can do with the essential which are provided in nature. Take care. Ron Moss

Leave a Reply

