7-inch Hidden Tang

DSCN0819[1]

This knife began life as a mistake, with a big notch (from a bolt-hole and pan-head countersink) in the cutting edge. So, it was re-ground to become what you see here.

This is the first example you’ve seen here, of knives made from a 4-foot taper-ground circle saw blade that I acquired. Thickness is about 1/4 inch.  The steel has not found its way to the lab yet, but it is possibly L-6. I did re-heat-treat it by the usual normalize-anneal-straighten-harden-temper sequence. Overall length is 12 inches, 7 inch blade. The knife weighs 12 ounces, sheath 6.5 ounces.  SOLD.DSCN0823[1]

About christophersknifeblog

I am a knifemaker and dealer, and live a very diversified life in the mountains of central Idaho. I love nature, agriculture, and homesteading. My knifemaking motto and advertising slogan is, "Knives Built for the Bush." I intend them to be efficient, durable, comfortable, functional, graceful equipment for life's challenges and opportunities. My website is www.ctfischerknives.com. Please visit!
This entry was posted in Knives and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment